top of page

Should expats and international students participate in the protests?


There are tens of thousands of people who have joined the protests, students, workers and elderly, age is not a factor. But is nationality?


By the time the 2017 elections come around, many of the expats who are here now will probably have left.


To be living in Hong Kong temporarily and to decide its future seems off. While it might be something you believe in and want support, you could be making a dramatic change. Think about that.


Also, as an expatriate taking part in Occupy Central, this might give Beijing reason to accuse other countries of sending in foreigners to take part and interfere in Hong Kong’s affairs (which is what Beijing has warned other countries not to do). To join the protest is not a problem, but it is when expats start to get arrested or harmed.


On a personal level, I normally feel disjointed with Hong Kong politics, and everything I read is from the perspective of an expat. I am aware of what is going on, but I am not engaged. Although I am a permanent resident, I don’t feel very included. It’s not discussed in my international school, there’s no way for me to vote. How else am I supposed to participate?


Screen Shot 2014-10-06 at 3.38.11 PM.png

I also feel like the political scene is extremely exclusive. Most of the newspapers require translations for direct quotes which leaves me sidelined. However, as an international student, I also do feel quite apathetic towards my own country’s political situation. Probably because once again, there’s no engagement.


I feel that although expats have a right to engage in politics, I would say that they shouldn’t. For a lot of the international students I have known, they were not born into this culture and society. They have to appreciate the differences in values and try not to impose their own on them. And I also don’t want to degrade the process by adding my name to it. This is Hong Kong’s fight and not mine.


By an anonymous expatriate student

Initial photo by Alvina Chan

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
Archive
bottom of page