top of page

Have International Schools Done Enough To Support Religious Diversity?

By Migel Borje

One's faith should be cherished, as it gives a person direction and meaning in life- it's not weird”, as said by an RCHK student.

In the IB, we acknowledge faith as a way of knowing. Yet students often find it difficult to express their dedication to their faith in school since international education’s model of “critical thinking” often clashes with those of conservative backgrounds. However, it is not the conflict of interest that is concerned- its the dichotomization that forms as a result.

Education, with an eye for molding independent thinkers, often oversimplifies the crux of religion, and characterize a religion as an abstract manifestation of faith. But critical thinking and religious beliefs are not mutually exclusive. Just because religion is a unilateral way of seeing morality, this does not mean it is a unilateral way of seeing life. As a Catholic I have seen how religious practice has its features of preaching and heeding, but one’s belief in a religion does not necessitate giving up one’s autonomy. International education should clarify this difference so as to prevent stereotypes and ultimately support diversity.

So what exactly is wrong with the current model of education? With so much support for secular learning, religious beliefs simply have to be cast off to the side. The international school environment plays a vital role in this as it should facilitate the confidence for cultural expression, however this comes with organic development. What teachers in interpretative subjects do not understand is the nature of morals, how much of it is actually determined by religion, and what is determined by objective ‘critical thinking’.

In an attempt to express my own religious beliefs and interpretation, I pointed explicitly to a vital component of Catholicism- the idea of heaven and meeting God. I then said it was more important than retaining supposed “life” and sanctity (this was in a debate about turning off life support, so in my view the sanctity didn’t exist either). I was labelled as an “unconventional” Catholic- which by all means is true, my beliefs are not conventional but to then say “it is hence not religious” completely bewildered me. Religion is not a set meal; I do have the autonomy to make my own judgement based on religious values.

In the world of ethics, there are essentially 5 ways of making judgement: harm or care, fairness, in-group loyalty, authority and respect, purity and sanctity. Seeing that facets of my religious beliefs work interchangeably between the 5, I feel that I have the right to say my views is driven by religious intent but ultimately manifest in liberalism.

The principle imperative walks a very fine line. But in a world where we aim for the decentralization of gender stereotypes and vy for a spectrum of socio cultural characterization, I feel it is of paramount importance to support the a spectrum of religious beliefs as opposed to casting it off as “conservatism”

I personally don’t believe international education is at its best with regards to religious sensitivity. As such, we should aim for an educational model that transcends religion, but not to ignore religion. We need to embrace religious expression, and realise that it does not necessitate a single outcome.

My faith plays a large part of who I am, I want that to be respected and valued”.

By Miguel Borje

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
Archive
bottom of page