top of page

Make the IB your friend


International Baccalaureate seeks to mold internationally minded and critical students. Inline with these aspirations, IB implements components such as breadth subject requirements, CAS requirements, to limit the effect of grade standardization. Across the years, however, it has come to light that these components also limit opportunities of specialized intellectual curiosity. Take note year 11s: as IBDP becomes a legitimate option for you this year, it is important for you to consider its faults in order to make the most out of it.

Being given the opportunity to choose your own subjects is something that most think of as a breath of fresh air. Y12 Student Rachel Tsao demonstrates this freedom through a choice of her own.

“My change from Chinese A SL to Spanish Ab Initio was one of the most difficult decisions I have had to make...but the freedom of the IB program has allowed me to immerse myself into an entirely new culture. I made this decision more than two months into the academic year, which really reflects the flexibility of the program.”

However, the idea of being prescribed ‘groups’ from which to pick your subjects continues to restrain students from finding their passion. As a student most intrigued by art (in the most general sense), it is difficult for me to see this passion through, due to the commitments I must have to math and science. While prospective science and humanities majors have the opportunity to drop a group 6 subject for a second group 3 or 4 subject, prospective arts students are limited to a SL humanities-science hybrid, Environmental Systems and societies. Although the IB supports well-balanced students, a foundation in academia takes precedent.

Even these students face problems. When they want to spend more of their time on their passion, they are still stuck with other subjects they might not find as easy. Y12 student Jessalyn Lam chooses alternative subject combinations to maximize her strengths.

“I chose math studies because I wanted to put more of my attention on other subjects, like Literature and Psychology, for which I have a stronger passion.”

Nonetheless, the IB curriculum prides itself on risk taking and academic diversity, but in doing so, often limits opportunities to follow specific interests. Some will find that this is not a problem at all, as they are driven by the work ethic that separates joy and education. MYP Highest scorer, Cherry Wu, feels the same way.

“Although I have a passion for visual art, I feel like I can find a similar kind of joy in the knowledge of other disciplines, namely, geography and economics. Understanding the world through the lenses of the multidisciplinary makes everything seem more grounded. To me, art is no longer limited as a subject anymore."

The IB CAS program may take an even clearer toll on passion. The nature of spreading your commitments across a broader spectrum of skillsets often leads to an apathetic approach to extracurriculars. Zoe Yu, current Y12 student feels the same way.

“I think the most important aspect of service is that it comes from the bottom of the heart. But a lot of this is lost when students are forced into things that are restricted to labels such as a 'major' or a 'minor'”

Since CAS is both measured by time and is time sensitive (due to the additional need to conduct CAS ‘throughout’ the Diploma program), those unfamiliar with such levels of time management are pressured to follow through with activities simply to check a box. Keep in mind the RCHK-specific CAS program does not recognize a singular passion to encompass the requirements of the curriculum, as IB priorises diversity of learning. But students should use this encouragement to venture into new opportunities, as put by Ms Kuyper, RCHK CAS Coordinator.

“The spirit of CAS is stretching limits, trying new things. Even if you have a passion for something, say sport, try it in a different context. Coach instead of simply playing and give back to the community”

Eventually, throughout the two years of IB, the burden of shadowing your passions will become clearer, as you realise the shift of priorities that result. If this is the case, you are going to make one of the most academically strenuous curricula even harder for you to complete. Below are some tips from current IB students to help you through the journey.

Choose subjects wisely (subjects that are not explicitly required)

The IB Subject Groups are unavoidable, so you have choose your passion from the possible subjects. Pick subjects for their likeness to your learning style, then compare them to subjects that would ‘look good’ (i.e, are not explicitly required) for your prospective university major. If there is a huge conflict between the two, I would question whether your prospective university major really fits you. Just pick the subject that comes easiest to you.

Use MYP S&A as an opportunity to explore

Year 11 is not a hard year - as long as you manage your time with PP. So you should have space after school and on the weekend to really explore your possible subject paths. I was interested in History, therefore I tried to engage myself in argumentative activities that concerned societal affairs such as debate; I was interested in Theatre, thus I participated in the school musical. Note that it’s also a period to experiment. I was genuinely considering Music and Economics in lieu of Theatre and History, respectively. However, upon engaging in a multitude of musical performances as well as taking on a marketing internship, I realised that my academic interests do not align.

Be independent

The school does not guide students enough to be independent of their parents. This is your experience, so discuss with them and tell them your side of the story. When in doubt, have a teacher consult your parents. It really is a shame when talented students don’t see their passion through.

Be logical but be open-minded

Your subject combination will reflect the rigour of your academics. So long as you have a good set of traditional subjects, you won’t need to worry about taking unconventional subjects. Group 6 subjects are often seen as such but even so, when applying to universities your subject combination is often what you make of it - this is especially so for US universities and UK universities. The creative skills, interdisciplinary skills acquired from Theatre, ESS, DT may strengthen your overall record, as it had for Kevin Chung. He took Environmental Systems and Societies, and often cites this as a cherishable experience in RCHK before studying at the University of Pennsylvania.

5. Consider other options

Remember DP is not the end-all be all. The IBCP, International Baccalaureate Career-related Programme, allows students to follow their career and future passions and RCHK’s IBCP program is looking to expand beyond visual arts in the upcoming years. Current arts and design students can reap the expertise of SCAD HK, just as Casey Chan has.

“I enjoy learning and refining my technical skills as well as getting to know the other SCAD students and seeing how each one of them work differently”

The IBDP definitely does not lend itself to an easy two years. Hopefully, I’ve given you enough information to make DP your own.

For Further Reference:

My subject combination is English Lit, History, Theatre HL, Math, Chinese B and Physics SL.

Justification

English Lit - I enjoy analysis in general. I chose this over LangLit as I do not feel confident in the breadth of writing media that students are required to do during the Langlit Curriculum. Lit has a succinct purpose, a clearer outline of analysis expectations which will really help come examination time. Due to Literature’s prescribed texts, teachers are more familiar with all possible interpretations. I find this very encouraging.

History - History grants a grasp to logic and comprehensibility that is not possible in other humanities subjects. Although I’d honestly be more interested by Middle Eastern history (only Russia, Germany, China and Japan are on RCHK’s syllabus), the nature of historiography is still extremely intriguing and is easily transferrable.

Theatre - I find theatre is a subject fit for anyone. Although there is obviously an emphasis on performance and possibly public speaking, the interdisciplinary nature of performance conventions and their subsequent analysis is something anyone can get used to.

Math SL - I chose Math SL for its inherent challenge. I was tempted to take the alternative route of Maths Studies but I was reassured that my preparation in extended maths, although often unsuccessful, is an apt foundation for the course.

Chinese B - I chose Chinese B over Spanish ab initio because I am genuinely intrigued by Chinese culture. Living in Hong Kong means you may not have the opportunity to practice knowledge of Mandarin but I see myself in exploring the mainland more and more as I grow up. (I had initially wanted to study Spanish online as my elective, but an online course would require a very specific type of student. Some are successful but I have heard the lack of interaction, even with online ‘classmates’ from other nations, can be very dull)

Physics SL - I chose Physics as it’s the most logical science subject of them all. The use of equations makes concepts a lot easier to comprehend, break down and study for in an examinations. As a standard level subject this was precisely I was looking for.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
Archive
bottom of page